Massage Licensing and Accreditation

  • Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation (COMTA) accredits both educational institutions and programs offering instruction in massage therapy and bodywork. The organization is non-profit independent body that was formed to establish and maintain the quality and integrity of the profession, reflecting the current and emerging professional practice standards.
  • Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) supports its Member Boards in their work to ensure that the practice of massage therapy is provided to the public in a safe and effective manner.
  • Massage and Bodywork licensing exam (MBLEx) is offered through the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB). Their mission is to ensure the provision of a valid, reliable licensing examination to determine entry-level competence.
  • Massage Therapy Body of Knowledge (MTBOK) was established by five of the major organizations that represent massage therapy: American Massage Therapy Association, Associated Bodywork & Massage Professionals, Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards, Massage Therapy Foundation and the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork.
  • National Certification Board for Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) is an independent, private, nonprofit organization that was founded in 1992 to establish a certification program and uphold a national standard of excellence. Today, there are nearly 90,000 nationally certified massage therapists and bodyworkers safely and competently serving millions of Americans each year.
Skip to toolbar